• Newton County Commission

  • Categories

    Government Offices

    About Us

    About Newton County
    Newton County is in the State of Missouri. It is included in the Joplin, Missouri, metropolitan statistical area. The population was 58,648 at the 2020 census comprised of 24,570 households. It is the eighteenth most populous county in Missouri. The county was organized in 1838 and named for John Newton, a hero of the Revolutionary War. The county seat is Neosho.

    Newton County has a multitude of communities including: Diamond, Fairview, Granby, Joplin, Neosho, and Seneca; Villages: Cliff Village, Dennis Acres, Grand Falls Plaza, Leawood, Loma Linda, Newtonia, Redings Mill, Ritchey, Saginaw, Shoal Creek Drive, Shoal Creek Estates, Silver Creek, Stark City, Stella, and Wentworth. The following localities are also in Newton County: Hornet, Monark Springs, Racine, Spring City, Tipton Ford, and Wanda.

    Rep/Contact Info

    David Osborn
    County Commissioner
    Daniel Swem
    Presiding Commissioner