• City of Neosho

  • Categories

    Government Offices

    About Us

    The City of Neosho exists to provide services to the citizens of our community. Some services are more traditional, such as police and fire protection, and maintenance of safe and adequate water and street departments. Other services include building inspections, Parks & Recreation, Planning and Zoning, and sewage treatment. Revenues to pay for many of these services are provided through sales taxes and various fees. Revenues for other services such as some parks programs and swimming pool maintenance are provided by user fees. All services the City of Neosho provides are important to its citizens. The quality of life in Neosho depends upon the services provided by the City, and the quality of the City’s service depends on how well we do our jobs.

    The City Council consists of five members elected at large by the voters of the city for 3-year terms. The City Council selects one of its members to serve as mayor, who chairs City Council meetings and serves as the spokesperson for the City Council. They also select a council member to serve as mayor pro tem, who assumes mayoral responsibilities in the mayor’s absence. Council meetings are held the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m. located at the City Hall Council Chambers.

    Neosho, known as the ''Flower Box City'' for having the largest Flower Box in the world and name, Ne-o-zho or Ne-u-zhu, is of Indian derivation meaning ''clear or abundant water''.


    Big Spring Park
    Big Spring Inn
    Bike Trail Construction
    Welcome to Big Spring Park
    Neosho Flowerbox
    Neosho Golf Course
    IOOF Cemetery

    Rep/Contact Info

    Jason Baird
    Chief of Police
    • Phone: (417) 451-8050
    Kenny Balls
    Parks & Recreation Manager
    Leslie Forest
    Finance Director
    Aaron Houk
    Fire Chief
    David Kennedy
    City Manager
    • Phone: (417) 451-8050
    Richard Leavens
    Development Services Director
    Krysti Muhic
    HR Director
    • Phone: (417) 451-8050
    Megan Scott
    License/Water Admin Supervisor
    • Phone: (417) 451-8050
    Nate Siler
    Public Works Director
    • Phone: (417) 451-8071